The New Star in the Norwegian Pop Jazz Sky

 

Ellen Andrea Wang is enjoying a rapid career: The young bass player, composer and singer is being celebrated in various bands and projects: She plays with super drummer Manu Katché on an extended tour, she is a member of Marilyn Mazur´s Shamania, a member of the Norwegian women's power trio "Gurls" which is currently causing a sensation in her home country, and above all she is  the head of her own trio.

 

Ellen Andrea Wang is not just playing bass and singing but is at the same time a great composer/songwriter who skillfully masters the keyboard of song aesthetics and rock energy. Catchy melodies tend to form the basis for extensive jazz inspired phrasing.

 

Classically educated on the violin and choral singing in her youth and a double bass study at the Oslo Conservatory, the young musician is equipped with the necessary tools to realize her own ideas. With her trio she makes a clear musical statement, bringing original compositions and familiar pop songs to the stage with immense enthusiasm. Their sound worlds range from acoustic jazz to synth funk with driving grooves and opulent choir movements.

 

Trio

 

 

Ellen Andrea Wang, Bass / Gesang
Erland Dahlen, Schlagzeug
Andreas Ulvo, Tasteninstrument

 

 

Gurls

 

 

Ellen Andrea Wang – bass, vocals
Hanna Paulsberg - sax
Rohey Taalah - vocals

 

 

| Ellen Andrea Wang

 

 

 

Ellen Andrea Wang - Perfect Danger

Gurls Trio - Dis Boy

On Tour

Aktuell sind keine Termine vorhanden.

Photos

 

After clicking on the thumbnail you'll see in the lower left corner of the lightbox a link to the image in high resolution. Please use the photo credits with any kind of publication.

Der neue Stern am norwegischen Pop-Jazz Himmel

  

Ellen Andrea Wang kann sich einer rasanten Karriere erfreuen: In den verschiedensten Bands und Projekten wird die junge Bassistin und Sängerin gefeiert - So spielt sie mit Super-Drummer Manu Katche auf ausgedehnter Tour, sie ist Mitglied von Marilyn Mazur´s Shamania, und gerade macht in ihrer Heimat das norwegische Frauen Power Trio „Gurls“ Furore. Vor allem ist sie natürlich der Kopf ihres eigenen Trios.

 

Dabei singt und spielt die Frau nicht nur, sondern ist zugleich eine großartige Komponistin/Songwriterin, die gekonnt die Klaviatur von Song-Ästhetik und Rock-Energie beherrscht. Eingängige Melodien bilden gerne die Grundlage für ausgedehnte Jazz-beseelte Phrasierungen.

 

Klassisch gebildet, mit Violine und Chorgesang in der Jugend und einem Kontrabass-Studium am Osloer Konservatorium, ist die junge Frau mit dem kompletten Handwerkszeug ausgestattet, ihre eigenen Ideen umzusetzen. Ihr klarstes Statement ist ihr Trio, mit dem sie Eigenkompositionen und bekannte Popnummern mit immenser Spielfreude auf die Bühne bringt. Ihre Klangwelten reichen vom akustischen Jazz bis zu Synthie-Funk mit treibenden Grooves und opulenten Chorsätzen.

 
Trio
 
Ellen Andrea Wang, Bass / Gesang
Erland Dahlen, Schlagzeug
Andreas Ulvo, Tasteninstrumente

 

 

Gurls

 

Ellen Andrea Wang – bass, vocals
Hanna Paulsberg - sax
Rohey Taalah - vocals

 

| Ellen Andrea Wang Website

 

 

Ellen Andrea Wang - Perfect Danger

Gurls Trio - Dis Boy

On Tour

01.12.2019 D-Freiburg Jazzhaus (Ticketlink follows)
03.12.2019 D-Mainz Frankfurter Hof (Ticketlink follows)
06.12.2019 D-Kassel Theaterstübchen (Ticketlink follows)
07.12.2019 D-Hannover Jazzclub (Ticketlink follows)

Photos

 

Wenn Sie die Vorschaubilder in der Lightbox öffnen, steht Ihnen dort links unter dem Bild ein Downlink zur Datei in Druckauflösung zur Verfügung. Beachten Sie bitte bei jeder Veröffentlichung die photo credits im Dateinamen.

Veröffentlichung honorarfrei